Clay Dockery, VP Corporate Brands, Massimo Zanetti Beverage USA, was elected to the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors of PLMA. The election took place on June 29, during the association’s Annual Meeting for 2020.

The meeting was held online and was open to all PLMA member companies. Originally planned to take place on March 27 in Arizona, the meeting had been rescheduled due to precautions in response to the coronavirus pandemic. PLMA’s outgoing chairman, Lisa Manzoline of Reynolds Consumer Products, opened the meeting with welcome remarks and a tribute to longtime PLMA president Brian Sharoff, who passed away in May. She then introduced Peggy Davies, who directed the rest of the meeting as acting president of PLMA.

In acceptance remarks following board elections, as the new board chairman, Dockery identified various ways the private label industry is responding to new challenges in sourcing, packaging and production of retail brand products for the wide range of purchasing options that consumers expect – including in-store, e-commerce, home delivery or click-and-collect.

John Schaefer, Vice President, Sales, Aspen Products, Inc. was elected First Vice Chairman, and Doug Bausch, Vice President Sales and Marketing, LNK International, Inc.was elected to the Second Vice Chairman post.

Five individuals were elected to the Board for three-year terms from 2020-2023. They are: Dean Erstad, Seneca Foods Corporation; Ashley Quaintance, TreeHouse Foods; Tim Marvin, Mizkan Americas, Inc.; Chris Anderson, Edgewell Personal Care; and Matt Carrol, U.S. Nonwovens Corp. Elected to fill a vacancy on the Board was Gil Wilson, T. Marzetti Company.

Continuing members of the PLMA Board of Directors include: Neil Sosa, ASO, LLC; Howard Kirschenbaum, Trinity Plastics; Lou DeMent, Giovanni Food Co.; Mark Coleman, Catania Spagna Corp.; Darin Ciavarella, Cargill Cocoa & Chocolate; Marc Robinson, Global Tissue Group; Kristal Sevcik, AmeriQual Group, LLC; Kelly McGolrich, Shearer’s Foods; and Mark Mayer, Hormel Foods.

Jerry McGill, Roehl Corporation, continues to serve on the Board representing PLMA member brokers, while Maria Dubuc, Marketing By Design, represents PLMA member suppliers. Former Chairman, Lisa Manzoline, Reynolds Consumer Products, continues to serve ex-officio as a member of the board, and Arthur Handler, Arthur M. Handler Law Offices, LLC, continues as General Counsel.